One of the foods I decided to try as part of a gallstone diet is chlorella. Chlorella is a an algae, and highly regarded as being a superfood. Despite lots of classic undocumented and sketchy claims (like, it cures everything from Cancer to Aids), Chlorella is in fact a food and has number of real beneficial properties. It is loaded with protein and contains tons of nutrients. It is easy to consume, coming in tablet form and in powders. The powder can be mixed into water or fruit juice.

Chlorella is known to have an extremely thick cell wall. This wall can be difficult for some people to digest. But it has an added bonus: chlorella is allegedly really good at bonding to heavy metals in the body. Because of this it is an important element in “detox” regimes, especially those involving the liver. Since I am doing so much work keeping my liver healthy and well nourished, this could have been an added benefit for me and anyone trying to reverse gallbladder disease and imbalances.

Sounds simple enough, so I decided to try some as an easy, natural way to boost nutrition.

Side Effects

Chlorella is known to have a few side effects. Some people have trouble digesting the thick cell wall. These people can experience some temporary bloating, nausea, and gas. The recommendation for these people is to lower the dosage.

After I started using chlorella, I noticed some gastro-intestinal “disturbances”. These seemed unrelated to my gallbladder so I was not concerned. I’ll spare you the details, but they became extreme enough I wanted to figure out what was going on. After some scientific elimination and a review of the foods I had been eating, I discovered Chlorella was the culprit.

Serious Side Effects

This led me down a number of searches, most importantly, chlorella vomitingEven a cursory glance at some of the those results will reveal that chlorella has an extremely dark side. This dark side is rarely acknowledged at all by chlorella manufacturers and advocates. Bottom line, we’re talking about people becoming VIOLENTLY ILL. We’re talking about trips to the ER, vomiting so badly they burst blood vessels, and painful rashes that last for months. There are hundreds of such testimonials out there. Read them.

I consider myself extremly lucky that my reaction was not that severe. But the risk is high here. For anyone recovering from gallbladder attacks, this would be a terrible thing to have happen. I would avoid chlorella completely.

There is an important lesson here: do your research. From now on, any new supplement or food group I introduce to my diet will be preceded by a (food)+vomit search.

The world of natural medicine is vast, poorly regulated, and documented mostly by anecdote and vague claims. Be careful.

 

