While researching things that can help the gallbladder and liver, two things keep popping over and over again. Chamomile Tea and Lemon Juice. Both are seemingly harmless enough and the anecdotes suggest that both are helpful in restoring your liver, and digestion in general, to good health. Seems simple enough and worth trying.

One problem for me is that I really don’t like the taste of Chamomile Tea. In my quest to see what I could do about that, I was lucky enough to find a local herbalist with pure, fresh, dried Chamomile flowers. It is a whole different experience. I strongly suggest you put the Celestial Seasonings to the side and go look for the good stuff. Fantastic.

Best of all, you can combine these to therapies into one simple drink. It seems both are beneficial as a starter and as a nightcap. So I brew a pot of fresh chamomile tea at night and pour a hot cup. I squeeze 1/2 of a fresh lemon into it and drink before bed. I save the rest of the pot for the morning. When I wake up, I pour the cool chamomile into a glass and add the other 1/2 of the lemon (squeeze it in). I drink it first thing in the morning. It’s a great time to take your Disodium Phosphate too.

Lemon Juice is nicely stimulating, particularly for the digestion. I am finding it is great before breakfast, but makes me a little more peckish at night than usual. Overall though, it is soothing and good for you. A fantastic source of Vitamin C.

