It’s as important to watch what you drink as it is to watch what you eat. We all require a tremendous amount of water each day and if you have a gallstones, it is a must. I’m 5′ 10″/155 lbs, so I’m supposed to drink about 85 ounces of water a day. 85 ounces! Measure out that amount sometime and see just how much it is.

I’m generally a thirsty fellow and do drink lots of water. But now I’m actually counting and it is easy to miss the mark of 85 ounces. You really have to strategize and plan to get all those glasses of water in each day, especially because you don’t want to drink too close to meals (to aid digestion).

One initial problem I had was being diagnosed with an ulcer and put on prilosec. The prilosec really, really, slowed my digestion so I was careful not to drink water within an hour before or after eating so I would not dilute the little amount stomach acid I had left. This was exactly the wrong thing to do. Gallstones need more water not less.

To make the most of a more calculated and focused consumption of all that water, I’ve come up with a few tricks.

The first thing to do is get yourself a good glass that you can reuse. That way, you don’t have wash 8 different glasses every night. Paint your name on it if you want to so your family does not hijack what will become your favorite glass. to Choose one that is a good, known measurement. I’m lucky enough to have an original POM Wonderful glass/bottle. It is a great, slim, 12 glass. Sadly, POM stopped making them and has replaced them with plastic.

The next thing to do is mix them up with some elixirs. Small additions to your glasses that will help you get down a few things known to be good for gallstone diets:

  • Add 2 ounces of fruit juice (organic apple or grape) to a 10 ounce glass of water.
  • Add a teaspoon or 2 of Apple Cider Vinegar (The good stuff, BRAGGS)
  • Add 2 ounces of Aloe Vera Juice (great for digestion, like the Flax Seed Tea)
  • Add a few ounces of fresh squeezed lemon

All of these things are fantastic for gallstone healing and general digestive health. Your water consumption is a good opportunity to get them down consistently throughout the day.

