The first thing I have learned for certain is that overeating is the surest way to trigger a gallbladder attack. It is absolutely critical that you never eat too much in any time period. This of course includes the types of food eaten, but more importantly, when & how much. Reviewing my History of Gallbladder Attacks, it became clear to me that the common thread was overeating. Preceding each attack, I had a larger, more filling dinner than any of the days where I did not suffer attack. As I continue to get my gallbladder attacks more under control, I’m becoming more sensitive to the subtleties of the attacks. Early on is was totally binary: either “full attack” or “no attack”. I now realize it is more nuanced than that.

I am throwing away my whole concept of “meals” and becoming a grazer. Eating smaller portions of foods throughout that day. More like snacking. Spread your food out throughout the day and pay careful attention to not overload your stomach. A little something every few hours. Slow down. You won’t starve to death. Don’t walk away hungry, but instead, just at the point of satisfaction.

For me, limiting my portions right up front works much better than trying to eat half a plate of something (and wastes less food!)

Pay close attention, especially if you have a recent attack. I’ve already seen a few instances (no joke) where the difference is between eating 1 dried fig or 2 dried figs (!) Slow down and go one bite at a time. Never grab a handful of anything.

It is interesting to note that in China (not Traditional Chinese Medicine) one of the strategies for eliminating stones is to violently flush the gallbladder. In this strategy, you go for longer periods of time without eating to fill the gallbladder with bile, then eat to cause it to flush. But importantly, this is done in a hospital setting where pain relief via an epidural is readily available! Not recommended for home-therapy 🙂

