And now for a post that may scare some readers away while delighting and enthralling the hardcore fans of Gallby.

Your gallbladder is responsible for storing bile and releasing it when it is needed to digest fat. That’s what little Gallby does. (How could anyone call Gallby a “useless organ”??) Bilirubin┬áis the main substance of the bile and interestingly, it provides color to bruises, urine, and feces. Your stool is brown because of the presence of bilirubin.

It makes sense then that a malfunctioning gallbladder would be evidenced by colorless stool. Pale colored stools are in fact an early warning sign of gallbladder disease. “They” (the Internet) often warn us of clay colored stools, but I’ll be damned if I can really tell you what “clay color” is. In fact, Google searches for “what color is clay” often link back to stool related pages where folks are asking the same question: what color is a “clay colored” poo?

Stool color is mainly influenced by diet. Eat a meal of pure beets. You’ll see what I mean. But the presence of bilirubin is responsible for the overall brown tone and can help you judge the effectiveness of your gallbladder healing.

Personally, I have noticed fluctuation during the process. Overall my elimination has consistently become a lighter shade of brown than I ever remember. I find it encouraging that there is obviously bile being pumped into my intestine. Sometime I do find myself wishing everything was a tad “darker”, but I am suspicious that the change has much to do with the bile salts and disodium phosphate. A key part of any supplementation for gallstones must include working to thin the bile and get it to flow more freely without cogging up the stones. I see stool tone as a way to monitor this progress.

Stool color is something it would be easy to obsess over if you were inclined towards such things. But please don’t. Your diet will have more influence than anything else. But do be on the lookout for radically pale stools as it will be a clear sign that your bile is not flowing and therefore, that your gallbladder is not healthy.

